Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Homework has been an integral part of the schooling system as it makes the learning process for students easier and more efficient. People’s opinion differs as to whether students should be assigned coursework at home, while some people are against the setting of the homework. I completely disagree with such arguments. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people agree that homework is an unnecessary burden on children. Firstly, it is proving to do nothing to improve children’s educational outcomes. For example, in some countries where students have none of the practices such as Finland, it tops international education league tables and outperforms nations where setting homework is a norm. Secondly, parents would argue that their children need time to engage in social activities or to rest after a long day at school. However, the assignment leaves them too tired and exhausted to do further study or any of the sports. Having to spend time with their family or their friends, is a beneficial development for their brain growth and personality formation. On the other hand, I feel that homework has a crucial role to play in the academic performance of children. The first plus point is that it encourages independent learning and problem solving because students are working through the given tasks by themselves and at their pace, depending on whether the material is easy to difficult to take in. By doing so, they consolidate their understanding of the concepts taught by their teachers. Finishing math exercises, for instance, is an additional practice in which children have to apply the equations that they have learned before in the classroom. This, in fact, helps them to be familiar with the type of questions, thus, they are stressed-free during the exam period since they have practiced multiple times. In addition, the habit of doing self-study daily develops an independent study habit, which is relevant to the working environment as they become adults. In conclusion, homework is certainly rigid in some ways, but I think its advantages, which forms students’ critical thinking and prepares them for future careers, far outweigh them in the long run.