Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In recent years, there is an increasing number of people who have decided to delay having children. The reason for this can be a better living standard and increased pressure in one’s daily life. However, this can have an adverse impact on couples and even society. Firstly, there are many reasons why women are choosing to have children at an older age than ever before. The first reason is due to a higher living standard. For example, women greater access to better jobs and have more time to pursue their interests. As a result, they become preoccupied with getting higher education as well as travelling and enjoying life. Secondly, the pressures of life can also impact this decision to have a family. University graduates are under pressure to get a good job; employees are stressed with burdensome tasks and seeking promotions; married couples are busy with saving enough money and preparing for better living conditions for their future kids. Consequently, everybody runs at their own pace and temporally puts off becoming a parent. Additionally, this trend toward late parenthood adversely affects their family and society as a whole. This first impact refers to health risks. For example, older women have increased health risks during pregnancy, such as miscarriage or premature births. Also, newborns are more likely to get sick and be less healthy, which can lead to worsening social problems. Moreover, there is an impact due to the generation gap between children and their parents. Older fathers and mothers cannot relate well with their hormonal children in some of their daily routines. Younger parents have more patience and are more willing to sit with their kids and listening to them and be more understanding of their silly actions. In conclusion, there are some reasons why people delay parenthood, and this can have a negative effect on their family and society.