Modern technology such as personal computers and the internets have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of their work instead of going to an office everyday. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation.

The internet revolution coupled with the miniaturisation and advancements of computers has turned the world into a global village. Distances have been rendered merely physical units of measurements, so much so that a person's location is also determined by the computer device they are carrying, for instance, their cell phone. This has made room for several opportunities for location-independent working. Many businesses and firms, provide their employees with portable laptop computers, which allow them to perform their duties regardless of their physical whereabouts. They may be several miles away in a different continent and still continue to be productive. Recently, in light of these advancements, a new model of working from home has emerged. There are a myriad of advantages and disadvantages of work from home model. In this essay, I am going to discuss a few of them. First and foremost advantage is the convenience that working from home provides for both, employees and businesses alike. Employees tend to prefer this approach because it gives them the flexibility of working hours and the comfort of their home. For example, if an employee got into an accident and had to be bed ridden, they would have to call one or potentially several days off, had they not been able to go to the office. From the business' point of view, in a similar scenario, the productivity gets least hindered. All of this made possible due to this work from home model. Moreover, it is a more economically viable option for businesses as they don't have to rent out large office spaces, and can potentially pay employees more or spend on their well-being instead of shelling out hefty rents. However, there are disadvantages too. A drop in productivity has been often evident in employees taking the work from home benefit. This is due to the many distractions that are present in any household environment such as pets, making noises, children demanding attention, or even trivial things such as the doorbell ringing, have shown an effect on employee productivity. In third world countries, this is an even bigger problem due to congested living spaces. Frequent power failures also contribute a lot to the cause. To conclude, where the technological advancements have made working, location independent, allowing for working from home, there are downsides and upsides associated with it. As long as the advantages outweigh the disadvantages for the business and employees, this new shift in work practices should prove fruitful.