Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences.Others, however believe that there are better alternatives ways to reduce crime.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Whether or not, criminals should be sentenced in prisons for a longer duration, has become a controversial issue.While some individuals believe that putting criminals behind the bars for several years is an excellent way to curb the crime, others feel that alternative methods to reduce the criminal activities can be explored. This essay agrees that it should be applied in case of harsh crimes and minor cases should be dealt politely. To commence with, it is clear that life custody is beneficial in deterring the individuals from committing serious crimes.Since threat of being sentenced to jail will prevent them from participating in potential offences.It is therefore agreed that murderers and terrorists, who are a great havoc to the harmony of the world can be deterred in this way.A terrorist was given capital punishment in India, is a prime example for others that no one is superior than laws. However, many disagree and claim that alternative ways to tackle with the people, who commit offences, should be adopted.According to them, vocational training and appropriate ways to rehabilitate are also effective ways to suppress the criminals. For instance, if minor criminals, such as thefts, pickpocket are provided sufficient techniques to enlighten their world, they may not return to their wrong acts. Therefore, these individuals should be provided vocational training for their rehabilitation. Moreover, giving life imprisonment will be a great burden on the government resources as they will have to provide prisoners essential facilities for their survival. In conclusion, although our society is divided on the issue of ways of curbing the criminal activities. This essay discussed how life imprisonment is not only solution and other ways are also present which are useful. I believe that is good to employ long time imprisonment for serious ones, whereas for less harsh other methods should be employed.