Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

It is believed that criminals should get a fixed penalty for all offence, which will prevent people from committing violence. So, there are multifarious positive and negative sides of this statement and I will spread light on both views with examples in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, crime has become a burning issue these days due to emerging technology such as social media. Also, some newspapers and reporters suggest public that a fixed punishment will have some benefits to stop crime in our societies. For example, if court aware people about penalty after spreading any kinds of violence, then youngsters will avoid to opt these habits and our whole world will turn into a safer environment. Moreover, the court will have to spend less time to announce the punishment of prisoners that is also benefit for them to save time in this hectic life. Secondly, one penalty for all wrongdoings have some disadvantages too. For instance, multifarious crimes are committed in this modern era and sometimes people commit offence by mistake or due to mental illness, then they are not accepted to be punished with the same penalty as they do not consciously. In addition, if punishment has been fixed as becoming a long time prisoner, then some people do offence to prevent someone's life so if they get the same penalty as the real wrongdoer then it would be inaccurate. In conclusion, punishing people according to what kind of crime has been committed will protect some innocent individuals from penalty. It can be happened in the government's intervening.