In the future, more people will choose to go on holiday in their own country and not travel abroad on holiday. Do you agree or disagree?

When it comes to tourist destinations, people’s preferences are changing, and soon there will be more tourists who will choose to visit their country instead of other countries. This is because after the current pandemic, people will be poorer, so the purchasing power will decrease dramatically. Also, individuals will not have enough time to organize a long trip since there will be more necessary to work than right now. As a consequence of the COVID-19 pandemic, the unemployment rate has been steadily increasing and has been spreading around the world like the (same) virus. This is because measures such as the lockdown have boosted the closure of a massive number of shops, and many citizens have lost their jobs. According to economic analysts/experts in economics, poverty will be higher in the near future, purchasing power will far lower, and people will not be able to afford expensive holidays. Moreover, people will spend their salary on essential products and services, and vacation will be a luxury. On the other hand, the lifestyle will change in the coming years, and people will have to work longer hours in much longer hours. In addition, employees will not have many vacation days available. Consequently, they will have to choose closer places to visit and in this way, make better use of the rest time. However, these changes will have some positive aspects, such as getting to know the country where one lives better. In conclusion, in the future, people will select local destinations instead of international places because people/we will not afford expensive travels; neither will we have enough time for a long trip. This unfortunate scenario will be a consequence of the current pandemic that we are experiencing and I strongly agree with this prediction.