The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The surge in traffic within metro cities is constantly increasing. The sole method of reducing the amount of vehicles that travel on the roads in urban areas is by cutting down the need of pupils who commute from their homes to their workplaces, schools or for shopping. This essay will discuss why I entirely agree with this method of reduction in transportation. The 20th century saw a revolutionary curve in the development of urbanised towns which inadvertently brought in progressive changes in the auto industry. Firstly, vehicles became cheaper to purchase which gave rise to a large number of vehicles being driven. Secondly, the infrastructure of roads was made much better which made travelling easier. For example, in Mumbai there are almost 35000 cars on the road everyday during peak hour. This has revolutionised cities and made it the financial capital of the country However, despite the progress there is a massive drawback which is heavy traffic. Furthermore, as there so many cars on the road, travelling to places takes far longer than expected. Moreover, because of the ease in buying a vehicle each individual has now taken a car as a part of their daily routine. For example, Delhi has 3 cars per household and it takes an average of 120 minutes to cover a distance of 30 minutes. Progress if has harmful repercussions should be curbed at the right time. To summarise, with more cars on the streets more people have started to step out as it's convenient, but this needs to be curbed to reduce the traffic. In my opinion, the government should have special programmes where they promote public transport and should focus on that in the coming years.