Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

These days, Advertising has become the most important tool of marketing for the companies. However, few individuals think that advertisements lead us to buy unwanted products, whereas, on the other hand, there are people who believe that an advertisement is the best way to know about new products. I believe the first statement is more correct which will be explained further. Firstly, advertisements only show us the bright part of the story and hides the negative features of the products. Due to advancement in the mass media communication, companies produce advertisements with vibrant colours and fancy information which attracts the attention of the potential buyer thus inducing the customers to buy undesired items. It can be best explained by taking an example of the herbal products and weight loss supplements. Secondly, the commercials are only informed consumers about their benefits and neglect their effects on the health. Data published in the magazine of India showed that the sales of these products have been increased significantly due to over marketing of such products. Not only this, excessive amount of promotions showed on the televisions or on the internet has an adverse effect on the tender minds of the children as well. More children are attracted towards the undesired products. For instance, nowadays, every other kid demands for the mobile phone or expensive gadget which shifts their focus from education. The most recent researched by the health department of India showed that the cognitive ability of youngsters is reduced by 20% due to immense usage of technology. Children are becoming more demanding and disobedient because of the irrelevant ads shown on TV. All in all, it can be evidently said that media and advertisement perform a vital role in influencing the purchasing decisions of the customers. Moreover, because of the half information provided during its marketing, people should put extra efforts in researching the commodities before they actually buy those.