In some societies, more and more people are deciding to live alone. Why do you think this is? Do the advantages of living alone outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that in many cultures, a growing number of people are opting to live on their own. The primary reason behind this lies in the ongoing trend of pursuing a higher education and successful career, resulting in the delay of a partnership. Although loneliness is an inevitable drawback of living alone, I believe independence and character growth through a sense of responsibility outweigh the disadvantages. The major drawback of a solitary lifestyle is the loneliness that comes with it. People who live by themselves generally struggle with the lack of companions as they do not have anyone to socialize with on a daily basis. For instance, a study in 2017 revealed that living alone is one of the primary risk factors for depressive symptoms. However, living alone also has some advantages, namely independence and personality development. People who live on their own do not have anyone to rely on but themselves and that is why this is a crucial moment in their life to grow as a person. For example, people who used to live with their family now have to do their own chores and it clearly will give them a sense of responsibility that they may not have before. To conclude, even though living alone has certain setbacks, such as depressive moments, it has an extremely positive impact on someone's life which cannot be overlooked. Thus, I believe that these benefits outweigh its drawbacks.