Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular What effects does its increase in popularity have on individual and on society?

Nowadays with the increase in development, shopping has gained popularity and acts as a medium of amusement. In this essay, we are going to discuss the possible reasons along with the benefits and demerits on a nation and an individual person. Shopping is popular because it acts as a medium to socialize. Many people wait for seasonal discounts and plan their shopping in a group which helps them exchanging the knowledge about the latest trends prevalent in the market. Another reason would be, a gain in self-esteem. Nowadays, people are earning more money which leads to access to internationally branded clothes, resulting in an increase in confidence. For instance, As per a report published by a popular brand of Europe, During festival season, their monthly sales skyrocketed to fifty per cent. The growth in the popularity of shopping leads to an increase in the economy of the country and has a positive effect on society. An increase in spending of an individual leads to an increase in demand for the products and to cater it, numerous competitive job opportunities are created in the market. Another negative effect is an increase in overall debt, with the ease in availability of money from credit cards in the form of unsecured loans people get addicted to overspending which leads to an increase in the overall debt of a nation. For example, eighty percent population of a leading developed nation have a credit card debt of a minimum of ten thousand dollars and by 2025 it will be doubled. In conclusion, shopping has gained popularity because it acts as a medium to socialize and increases the self-esteem of an individual. Nevertheless, it leads to numerous merits as well as demerits like an increase in the economy and overall debt of a nation.