Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extremely serious crimes. Others believe that it is not morally correct to kill criminals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to homicides, there are two arguments about how murderers must be punished for their immoral acts. One group of people thinks a killer only deserves death, whereas another group believes life imprisonment is the best option. I agree with the second point of view because killing is always an immoral behaviour. Firstly, who agreed with the death penalty affirm that a guilty must suffer like a victim. In other words, they are based on the well-known motto “eye by eye tooth by tooth”. According to that, there are massive numbers of places around the world where it is legal to kill criminals. But, it depends on not only the country, but also regional laws. For example, in Argentina, it is prohibited, whereas the United States is legal in some states. Secondly, a more conservative group of citizens think to kill, even if the victim Is a murder, is an immoral measure. That is to say, anybody would have the power or decision about human beings’ life. In addition, the defenders of life have religious beliefs that are against suffering. For that reason, in countries where religion has a crucial role, the death penalty is usually illegal. I totally against killing, and I believe there are other ways to do justice; for instance, life imprisonment can be the best alternative to avoid new crimes and keep our society safe. Moreover, in some cases would have mistakes of judgments in criminal matters. To sum up, there is no doubt that killing is terrible; however, in some circumstances concerning crimes, it can be justified. One view agrees with the death penalty, whereas another is against it. As far as I am concerned, I believe life must be respected, and there are far more reasonable punishments for homicides.