Littering in cities is an increasing problem which needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines is the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

Dropping waste on the ground or in the streets has become an alarming issue in the world. It is thought by a few sections of society that the high fines are the best method in order to overcome this problem. In my opinion, while steeper fine is an effective method to approach this issue, it is not the only one. Having bigger fines is certainly one way to tackle the subject of littering. Increasing the fine will make people take it more seriously. For instance, at present, many people litter the streets because they do not consider this to be a serious offence and for the convenience, but by imposing a considerable penalty, people will think twice before doing it. However, the best way to deal with the problem of littering would be a long time solution involving educating the younger generation. It is a prevalent threat due to the fact that many people are not fully aware of the environmental and health impacts that it has. By raising awareness and building a habit of disposing of waste correctly, this threat can be eradicated in coming generations. Finally, another possible way to tackle this would be to have more dustbins available to the public. The reason being that the majority of people throw garbage in the streets because there are no bins available to put their waste in and they do not wish to carry their rubbish with them until they find a bin. By having more bins available, it would not only be more convenient for people to dispose of their garbage properly, but it would also act as a reminder for them to do so. In conclusion, imposing heavier fines along with educating the youth and putting more bins to the reach of the public are effective means to the eradication of this alarming and raising concern the world is dealing with.