You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Advancements in disposable packaging in recent years have really increased the amount of trash we produce as a collective global society. From soft drinks to your daily grocery items, all come in cheap packings. This essay will further elaborate the reasons behind this issue and discuss the ways authorities can help reduce it. I think the improvements in the use of plastic as packaging material has caused the rise of garbage in recent years. On the one hand, it is the advancements in the manufacturing process that has reduced the cost significantly. Perhaps so significant that most companies are now choosing plastic over another easily reusable, but expensive, materials. To illustrate, It was not too long ago when soft drinks only used to come in glass bottles. On the other hand, it has promoted the use of readily available products, which were not possible to package for longer periods of time before the improvements, such as, half cooked meals. Governments can take several actions to control the production of trash. One way to tackle the issue is by banning the usage of cheap polythene bags over promoting better quality reusable ones. Consequently, it will reduce the number of low quality bags going out in the trash. For example, In Italy most people bring their own reusable bags to the grocery stores. Additionally, one can even buy products like detergent and soups in their own glass jars. Another way could be by incentivising the collection of recyclable containers, like plastic bottles. For instance, In Germany, if the consumers bring back their used bottles to the shop they purchased it from, they get a certain percentage of the price back. In conclusion, I think we have become a rubbish producing society because of the advancements in technology. However, governments can play a significant role by forming regulations that can make it harder for brands and consumers to produce more rubbish.