Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

The idea of teaching parenting as a subject in schools has been around for some time and also promoted by a few, however, I am of a belief that we must not burden the young ones with an extra subject that they do not need in near future. Educating kids about good parenting may have some benefits in their development, yet I believe It will do more harm than good. Children in school are too young to understand the nuances of parenting, and lack the required experience to fathom the skills needed to raise a child. It is a subject that involves understanding the complex human psyche. For instance, a good parent may sometimes lie or hide certain information from the younger ones to protect them, but it contradicts with the basic moral values they teach. There are several skills that a parent may need to be good at their jobs. One such skill is to be compassionate. A child in their early age is very sensitive and needs a lot of attention. Being compassionate can earn some affection and trust from kids. For example, a child is closest to the father or the mother based on who spend more time with them. Another skill is being open minded, meaning changing with the time. Although It is very common as a parent to impose the rules one has practiced in their own childhood on to their kids, one needs to upgrade themselves accordingly to the new generation. To illustrate, In my own case, my father supported me with marrying the person I love, while arrange marriage was a preferred model in his generation. In conclusion, good parenting is a set of skills that require certain experience in life to understand them. Some may argue, teaching it in early age can be good, but one will only be burdened by the complex information.