Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Part of the population believes that too competition inside schools can affect students negatively. On the other hand, some consider this as an encouragement for young students. I believe that it depends on the kind of competition and the students' age. In my opinion, primary school does not have to create a competitive environment. I think so because students in their first years of school do not have to be competitive. Instead, they should play together, trying to enjoy the time spent at school and learning things that are more important than good grades, like how to behave in certain situations and respect for others. For example, competition could put pressure on students and some of them might want to finish their school path as soon as possible. I believe that attending school and studying are the most important things that a young person should do, and the aim of primary school should be to encourage people to study. However, high school students are older and they should start to learn how to manage stressful environments. Although, this does not mean that school has to create toxic competition. I believe that there is a kind of healthy competition that can contribute to pushing students beyond their limits, but teachers have the key role of managing the competition. For instance, teachers should help more those students who have difficulties, in spite of putting pressure on them and making them feel wrong. In conclusion, I consider school competition as a positive opportunity only if it is created in a proper environment under the control of a teacher.