Many companies today sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that this is a good thing for the world of sport. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Sport is the food for the mind, for the majority of the population. Taking advantage of this, companies are financing brands, competitions and even competitors, and I believe it is beneficial for both the world of sport and the companies itself. Undoubtedly, investment creates advertisements on television, ranging from live displays on the court to the signature icon of the brand being placed beside the team logo. These advertisements may sometimes be annoying; however, people can simply ignore them since they cannot block the vision of the match. What should be taken into consideration instead is how benefit can funding be for the competition. With the budget, organizers are allowed stadiums, pay for the highest quality of cameras for supervision and recordings at an affordable price, and hire people to set up the match. For example, with the support of ‘Gau’, a uniform making company, we are able to hire a professional cameraman to record our football matches. This ensures the highest quality of competition, which is available to both television viewers and live spectators. Many people say that they do not exercise despite many educational programs about this, simply because the availability of sport facilities is limited in their area. To solve that, organisations should open up new places to support the development of sport in such areas, but it may be unsurprising that some would still be unable to pay for monthly membership. For example, in my area, there two gymnastic centres, and both ask for a membership per month, but I simply cannot afford that because I am still a student who do not work part-time. Given the expensive price of the equipment, if a centre is willing to afford more, they also need to increase the fee to cover for the loss of cash. It seems clear that sponsorship from other institutions is necessary to reduce the annual fee, which consequently encourages those who suffer financially to give a try. To sum up, financial support from businesses is imperative to the realm of sport given the impact of these activities on our daily lives. Thus, I agree that investment can help us achieve a new level of success in the field.