Students are becoming more and more reliant on computers. What are some of the problems associated with reliance on computers, and what are some of the possible solutions?

Computers are evidently becoming integral part of the education system, causing an increased dependence on computers for students. While this invention is being appreciated for its benefits, this essay will illustrate some of the problems associated along with possible solution which helps, neutralize the adversities attached to the same. Major issue with substantial reliance on this invention is lack of problem-solving skills. Everything today is available at the click of a button, which discourages children to apply critical thinking and come up with a solution themselves. Consequently, most pupils from this digital age, lacks in the intellectual thinking skills. To state an example, recent research shows, IQ levels of students studying without computers for a year, was found 30% higher, in contrast to the ones using technology as a tool for learning. Every great invention has its own nuances, but we as human beings should know how to build a right balance. Limiting the use of computers in the education and increasing activities-based pedagogy, is a possible solution to this rising situation. For example, global schools in India, nowadays follows innovative curriculum, whereby, they encourage students, to think critically and help develop their cognitive side. At the same time, the child is also introduced to robotics/digital world with its limited usage, at this stage of the life. In conclusion, there is no denial of ever increasing reliance on computers for studies and neither to its side effects of missing cognitive development in pupils. To offset the impact, we need to ensure a right balance in place and encourage more and more practical ways of pedagogy.