Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sport, while others think it is a negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is increasingly common that many companies advertise themselves by sponsoring sports. While some people believe that this trend is negative, I would argue that it is a beneficial form in terms of the sport industry. Firstly, it is important to consider that the sports industry is one of the most tremendous industries in the world. However, these companies, and sometimes countries might be contributed with financial corruptions or even monopoly. Many reports show that there is an extreme conflict between Qatar and the KSA for the ownership of the broadcasting rights as Qatar, at the moment, is controlling the broadcasting all over the world, even in Europe. Consequently, the main benefit behind sports is becoming far less important than its real concept which can be resulted in corruption and its financial consequences. Nevertheless, many companies are investing in the recruitment of well-played players and athletes in terms of advertising and thus gaining high revenues. Adidas, for instance, makes a huge amount of profit every year by sponsoring the iconic Leonel Messi. Leonel Messi is considered to have a legendary left foot that let him score superb goals and therefore this has made Adidas adding more and more profit as he continues to score more and more goals. For this reason, many companies such as: Nike, Kelme and even the Italian manufacturer Puma are competing annually to sponsor him by offering such a mouthwatering incentive. In conclusion, despite troubles and financial dangers which might result by some countries, I believe that advertising has such a great effect on athletes and players.