In some countries, the government pays unemployed people on a weekly basis. How does this impact individuals and the government? Do you agree or disagree with this idea?

To support their citizens, some countries established social programs for unemployed people. This helps a lot in the short term for some people. However, in the long term, this may cause less responsibility and motivation for self development. I personally agree with the positive impact of such an initiative, but it also has some downsides. Firstly, I agree with this idea because it supports the essential needs of citizens. This way both sides, the government and the unemployed, receive a positive impact. The government receives high social points and the people receive a basic level of life via this minimum viable income project. With weekly, short period support, people become available to concentrate on searching for a job and the job application process. In addition, the government looks positive in the eyes of their electorate by providing unemployed people with extra funds. On the other hand, simply supporting people who are struggling for money may cause them to be more relaxed and unmotivated. Therefore, the employment department should provide some kind of tools to help people change their situation. For example, organize self-development courses and job fairs for people. At the same time, any social program should receive KPIs to monitor the success for unemployed people. So, some report from the final receivers of this funding should be collected regarding how that money was used. In any case, I agree that it has a positive impact for everyone. Finally, I definitely support such social initiatives and would vote with both hands for them. For sure, this kind of project is beneficial for either side and should be supported and monitored. Therefore, I agree that a minimum viable income project is an amazing initiative.