In some countries corporal punishment continues to be administered both at home and at school. Many people believe that physical punishment leads to better behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In some regions, it is widely held that physical punishment leads to better behaviour. Nevertheless, I totally disagree with this view, as I believe corporal punishment may cause some serious issues to the child’s mentality, along with being an ineffective methodology. Body · 1 The most significant reason for my disagreement is that this approach might leave a bad impact on children, especially at this age. As a result, pupils may get into depression. Besides, they will lose their confidence. Together with being insulated from the external world, which leads to massive communication ramifications, whereby students find themselves with neither friends nor relationships due to the bad treatment they had received. This clearly indicates the importance of avoiding physical harm in any form. Body · 2 Equally important is the fact that physical punishment is not the most effective way to tackle this problem. This is because hitting a child does not fix his thoughts. In fact, children might tend to misbehave more. We often hear from therapists that the best way to deal with children is by cutting the idea from its roots, hence improving students’ behaviour, relationships, mental health and so on. Body · 3 There are those who claim that this physical punishment deters children from committing the same behaviour again. However, this is not really true because they might direct their anger to commit something bigger next time.

For these reasons, I firmly believe that physical punishments do not lead to better versions of children, primarily because of the other effective alternatives, and the bad effect it will leave.