Economic growth is the best way of ending global poverty but it can also have a negative effect on the environment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

Some people argue that the development of the economy is a key factor in tackling global poverty, while others believe that it also has a detrimental effect on the habitat. This essay will examine both views before presenting a concerned conclusion. On one hand, it is thought that the main reason for global poverty is an increasing number of unemployed people who are not able to fulfil their basic needs. In this case, if countries have good economic conditions, they can propose programs that can alleviate poverty. For example, developed countries that have a high GDP as one of the indications of their economic growth can conduct free training programs for unemployed people because they have enough funds to do that. As a result, people can enhance their skills through this program so that they are able to be hired by some companies. On the other hand, some people contend that economic growth in some countries can result in a negative effect on the environment. This is because countries which have positive economic development tend to improve their infrastructure by constructing enormous buildings. An example of this was seen recently in Australia when they built big buildings for major companies in Sydney. Clearly, this condition can result in biodiversity loss since there are many animals and plants have lost their habitat. Moreover, the more new buildings, the more people might travel to work by their own car so that there will be a problem related to air pollution. In conclusion, some people believe that economic growth has the merits of ending global poverty, whereas others argue that it has a disastrous effect on the environment. I would argue that both views are valid, however, I advocate that the government should consider a strict rule for companies to avoid unintended consequences for the environment.