One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweighs the disadvantages?

Nowadays, with the advancement of medical technology, people could live longer than before. Some believe that longer life expectancy is a benefit, whereas others think that it is a drawback. Personally, I agree that longer life expectancy will be more beneficial than detrimental. On the one hand, there is always plenty of regrets in our lifetime, such as lack of time for family, business or even travel. With the an extended lifetime, people could do more meaningful things in their life. For example, people could cultivate their dream jobs regardless of salary and working hours after retirement. What is more, people could also devote themselves to the community with their extra years. Furthermore, they could enjoy a longer time with their family members. Life extension definitely makes people's lives more colourful. On the other hand, if people could live longer than before, the government would have funded an extra amount of money on social welfare. Take public health insurance as an example. Currently, the officials only need to spend on people who passed away between the ages of 60 to 70. However, if life expectancy increases, the government would have to pay more into social security. Secondly, the retirement age would be postponed due to the economic burden. For instance, people need to work longer to earn enough money to maintain their daily necessities. Lastly, the youth will be harder to get promoted due to the job vacancies already being occupied by the elderly. In conclusion, no matter the drawbacks of longer expectancy age. I would contend that the benefits of extended life expectancy outweigh the drawbacks.