Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The environmental problem is one of the most widely discussed topics in recent years. Recycling is a paramount method to reduce pollutants to the environment. However, some people point out that not enough amount of household waste is recycled and suggest that a legal restrictions must be launched by the government. In the justification of this notion, I partly accord with it because a financial incentive is also a good motivation to encourage recycling. On the one hand, many countries have launched legal requirements to enforce citizens to reduce the amount of household rubbish, which have been very effective. For instance, Japanese people are obligated to separate their waste from home to different types of materials for recycling and they would be published with incorrect separation. By having a strict instruction and harsh punishments, people are forced to participate in the recycling, and as a result, more rubbish would be recycled. However, it may cause a heavy burden to people, which may raise an unpleasant feeling to the government. On the other hand, monetary incentive can also provide motivations for encouraging residents to recycle more waste. A recycling scheme can be introduced with providing rewards or shopping coupons to attract the citizens getting involved in recycling. To cite an example, a non-governmental organization in Hong Kong has introduced a scheme to some housing estates. By recycling more rubbish, residents can collect points for redeeming rewards and coupons. It has brought a great influence to the habit of recycling of citizens. To conclude, I believe that the law enforcement and financial incentives are useful methods to urge people to recycle more. The government and citizens should cooperate to save our environment..