Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment.

It is often believed that retribution for any offence must be fixed and could not be changed on any basis. There may be a few pros and cons of this statement, because sometimes the situation and people can be changed with the time. So based on that we will discuss both consequences in the below paragraphs. To begin with, For some crimes fixed punishment can have an advantage for law. There are scenarios in which retribution criteria change while reaching the conclusion of the case. For example, as there is a death sentence for the rape case in most of the countries. But after the number of hearings and plea the it took a number of turns. Hence at the end of the hearing few people get the same reckoning and other get the life sentence. Moreover, by this few criminals may escape from their wrongdoing. Sometimes few gets bail after a few years. At the end, the criminals supposed to execute more crimes in the future. Therefore, the fixed result is an advantage and can decrease the offence in the country. On the flip side, there are few criteria in which rigid punishment can be a disadvantage for a few people. Because there are many, who unintentionally get trapped in the offence. For instance, in someone murder, there can be a number of executives, but in the initial stage one cannot get an idea of exact criminal. So with the fixed retribution, innocent people and their family life can ruin. So it may have a disadvantage at that time. It is necessary to go through complete hearing and result must be declared only after reaching the conclusion. To conclude, every side has both consequences, so one should take a decision after seeing each and every aspect of the case. So fixed punishment can be risky for the law of the country.