Over time, as children grow older, the relationship they have with their parents changes. In your opinion, what role should parents have in their adult children’s lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the passage of time, the bonding between parents and kids undergoes many ups and downs. These may strengthen or weakens depending upon the circumstances, attitude towards one another. In my opinion, to have a healthy and lively bond, parents should act as a mentor and a friend in the life of their kids. This essay will elaborate the roles in details. Firstly, the mother and father should be a guide, mentor for the growing kids to whom they can consult, seek advice, etc. For example, at the age of adolescence the youngsters often get confused about their career path, therefore, at this point of time, the elderly can coach and show the right direction to them. It will help them in visualizing the better future and they will look their parents with gratitude. Hence, it will the solidifies the base of their relationship. Secondly, a friend is someone with whom anything can be shared without hesitation. Teens often at this age are looking for someone with whom they can share their secrets, tell what is bothering them, what they are looking for. At this stage, the elderly should play the role of a friend and provide a comfortable environment leading to the open and transparent communication. Otherwise, in spite of having healthy relationships between both generations, it will lack the transparency of things. My parents always shared a friendly bond with me, gave me ample freedom of thoughts, actions and at the same time guided me as a teacher. To conclude, I believe the love, respect lasts only when there is mutual understanding and trust. To make it worse or better depends upon the behaviour of both the stakeholders.