The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishment for driving offences. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a growing consensus on the impact of road traffic accidents on people's lives. This worrying trend has to be thoroughly analysed. It is argued whether drastic punishment should be implemented to decrease the number of adverse incidents that could happen. The forthcoming essay will explain why I disagree with this notion.  Many reasons explain why I disagree that strong punishments are the only way to tackle this issue. Although imposing punishments can be beneficial to some extent, severe punishments can do more harm than good. Especially if what is meant by invasive punishment, brutal measures that include execution, long years spent in jail, amputation, or even ending a life. If punishing individuals is to ensure more safety in society, more moral values should be embedded in legislation. Many other ways can be suggested to decrease accidents and offences made by individuals. Firstly, driving lessons should be structured efficiently; if participants undertaking driving lessons need more training, extra hours of driving lessons must be taken. Secondly, awareness campaigns by the government could have a significant impact on people’s mindsets regarding rules that lead to decreasing causes of traffic accidents. For instance, campaigns about the dangers of alcohol intake while driving. In conclusion, there are significant advantages that outweigh the disadvantages when considering less severe punishments for offences made on roads. It is recommended that positive ways to reduce accidents be considered and simultaneously add benefits to the whole society.