Some people claim that not enough of the waste from hokes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is argued that some individuals state that not much of the waste has been recycled from homes. Some people say that the best way to increase recycling is for governments to launch a legal requirement. In this essay I strongly disagree with the statement, that reducing waste behaviour by law is a short-term solution, I believe the government can use media to increase the public’s awareness of the importance of recycling, which can encourage schools to teach young children to learn from a young age. To improve peoples’ wasting habits by increasing their awareness of the seriousness of not recycling properly. Many countries face a serious insufficient landfill problem this is because people throw their trash away such as comfy sofas or television. Government can use social media, print ads, or advertisements everywhere to remind people to avoid buying unnecessary stuff. For example, they have a "3R" advertisement standing for reuse, recycle, and reduce and it is easy for public to remember and do it at home, such as using fewer plastic bags, and reusing takeaway boxes. Moreover, school is the best place to teach their students to protect the planet by reducing waste. Recycling topics can be included in their module, different coloured bins can be recycling different materials such as brown bins is to collecting metal cans, and yellow bins is collecting paper or cupboards. While they learn, they will share what they learn and encourage their parents to do so. In conclusion, making a law to control people from recycling is a short-term solution, however, enhancing population recycling behaviour by using advertisements and instilling young children on the importance of recycling rubbish will be better than using a law to restrict them.