As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

As a result of the population growth crisis, the ownership and driving of transport have increased with the progress of nations. This trend would introduce both pros and cons, but I believe that the drawbacks do outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, it is clear that owning a vehicle would bring about several advantages. One evident strength is that it would offer personal comfort to the owners. In other words, they do not need to wait at the station any moment for getting into a public transport, thereby saving that time and utilizing it in productive ways. Another reason is that it would help them to avoid the climate difficulties, such as excessive heat or heavy rain, and easily reach their destination. Last but not least, it would be more convenient to transport goods in car rather than using public transport which is not secure and is short of storage space. On the other hand, I argue that there are some obvious disadvantages would arise. First, excessive numbers of car will severely contaminate the atmosphere. This is because the growth of vehicles emits more fumes, like carbon dioxide and nitrogen, which are perilous and harmful for the atmosphere. Second, having more cars will pollute the air. Consequently, the polluted ambiance promotes respiratory diseases and decreases the ideal standard of living. Finally, high levels of car users on the road, especially during rush hour can lead to lots of congestion, traffic jams and a lack of parking spaces. In conclusion, there are plus points to have a privately-owned vehicle. Nevertheless, it seems to me that its disadvantages would be more significant regarding the contaminated atmosphere, the polluted air and the congestion.