Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

It is argued that taking a break before starting a higher study would be fruitful. It is a good idea to travel or to opt professional employment before getting admission into the educational institution for higher studies, because it will help students to refresh their mind and to concentrate on higher education; moreover, students can earn some money, which will help to pay the fees and other expenses and to boost in carrier. Firstly, having a vacation between studies is much needed to relax the mind. Some students choose to travel, which is benevolent to an individual as it explores different places and different cultures. Furthermore, they can have a whole new experience and can learn new languages also, which is beneficial for the future who want to migrate to different countries. For instance, a study by Oxford academy has found that exploring new cultures and learning different languages before starts a degree helps the student to expand their mind and widen their horizon. Secondly, some students choose employment before starting their university studies, which helps them financially as well as in employment after education. Seldom, the fees of the university are so high that some learners can not afford to pay, so they do the job and saves money for fees and other educational costs; while, others do that to gain work experience in their relevant field. Besides, doing a work or an internship make students mature and responsible. For example, in the US majority of students do either a job or an internship before starting their college studies. In conclusion, whether to take a year-long break or not is an individual decision. Nevertheless, travelling can help students to release stress before starting college, and job before university study helps pupils to gain practical training in their respective field and also make them financially independent to bear high tuition fees.