Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Nowadays, high levels of sugar are contained in many foods, especially in manufactured food, and the consumption of such food has a negative impact on human health. Some people suggest that consumers should be charged a higher price for sugary products in order to discourage them from buying them. In my opinion, this method is not very practical. It is true that consuming this kind of food can increase the level of sugar in the blood, which may lead to diabetes and blockage in blood vessels. However, raising the price is not a practical solution for this problem. As sugar is contained in many staple foods, like bread and pasta, which are important in many people’s daily diet, increasing the price of these products will influence the quality of people’s daily life. This is especially true with consumers who are less well off. From my point of view, a better solution would be to enlighten people on the contents of their diet because very often the consumers are not aware of this information. Although there are content labels on the products, not many customers actually spend time reading the information. Even if they do read the labels, they will probably be bewildered by those sophisticated terms. Therefore, talks and lectures should be organised to inform people of both the function of the ingredient label and the amount of sugar consumed daily. What’s more, it is important to make sure that these lectures are also addressed in schools because childhood is a key time to form a healthy eating habit. By doing so, the whole family can also benefit when the children pass on the knowledge to their family members. To sum up, as far as I am concerned, raising the price of sugary products is not necessary as it brings about negative impacts. What should be done instead is to make the information of food composition more understandable.