In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

It is true that despite the innovations in farming, a lot of individuals still suffer from hunger throughout the world. This essay will discuss one of the problems and suggest a viable solution which can be taken up by the government, to counter this menace. Most of the technological advancements in the cultivation industry are done to increase the foodstuff production, but one prominent reason of starvation across the world is foodstuff wastage. It is an area no-one wants to talk about. For instance, the supermarkets boast of increasing revenue year on year, but never mentions the number of edible meals they throw in the garbage since it is not sold or is reaching expiry date. They need to clear stocks for the incoming batch of fresh foods. If a small portion of this thrown feed would have reached starving people, it would have helped them to be full. Similarly, at a house party a lot of food is cooked for guests to eat and the leftover is dumped since there is no defined way that this feed can reach someone in need. In my view, to ensure that everyone gets a proper diet, governments should follow a two-step process. First, they should create physical food-banks in every district using the latest machinery and using automation must provision a channel through which it reaches the right set of people who needs it. Second, the government can encourage everyone to donate whatever extra eatable items they have to be sent directly to food-banks. For example, a supermarket can send almost out-of-shelf eatable items directly to the food-banks. This will help the problem of poor people to get something to eat and supermarkets and individuals dumping the nourishments. In conclusion, one of the main problems with many people suffering from famine is the food waste and the governments can overcome it by creating food-banks for people who need it the most.