In Britain, when someone’s gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Some times the government has to pay for this care Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Who should pay the cost of elder- care units? The governments or the families? Well, this question has been the topic of hot debate. I find myself in agreement with the former statement and deem that it is the government's duty for reasons as shall be elaborated upon presently. On the one hand, although many people can afford this facility it is not realistic for families. To explain, individuals pay taxes for their entire life and deserve free old-age accommodation services when they are in their remaining years. Nonetheless, not only, this will foster equality due to a similar financial budget for all citizens but also diminishes the onus from family members. Hence, It is clear that the government should stimulate this approach and aid the elderly by rendering quality lodge amenities. On the other hand, proponents of another viewpoint might argue that due to other financial responsibilities authorities should shun this area and pay attention to various imperative sectors such as, associating succour in hospitals and schools. From my perspective, I understand that officials should pay close consideration towards other primary areas too, but accommodation liability for older people should be on high authority. Consequently, supporting elderly individuals financially solely by the family might not be feasible for all, especially those with low-income backgrounds. In such cases, the government should step in to provide support to ensure that all elderly people receive the care they need irrespective of their family's financial status. Moreover, government -funded elderly care ensures equality in the quality of care provided to all citizens, regardless of their financial circumstances. To recapitulate, based on the aforementioned arguments it can be reiterated that not everyone can pay the costs associated with elderly care. Thus, the government should opt for the liability and pay for the expenses for senior citizen homes because those individuals paid taxes when they were working.