In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people in many countries. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the years to come, the number of geriatrics in several nations will surpass that of the youths. This could be due to the fact that youths are involved in illicit substances and this would obviously not be advantageous to the society. One major reason why the population of older citizens will be greater than the younger ones could be because youths are indulging in hard drugs. These substances degenerate their vital organs rendering these individuals lifeless in a short while. By and large, their number begins to decline giving rise to that of older adults. Unlike the adults who decease from such substances, these young ones practise drug abuse in excess and uncontrollably thus the outcome. For instance, the number of Nigerian youths has reduced drastically, in the last decade, because of their involvement in hard drugs. Hence, excessive indulgence in hard drug has been found to be one of the reasons the number of youths is receding and the trend is continuing in countries. This drastic decline is not in favour of nations. In other words, when the majority of the population are older adults, the economy of the countries suffers. Due to the ages of these older citizens, they are weak physically and mentally. As a result, they would not be able to contribute much to the economy. Rather, their welfare takes the major part of the governmental funds. For example, the economy of The Republic of Kenya is shipwrecked because their population is largely older adults, who has nothing to contribute to the community rather than to sap the available resources. In conclusion, youth's population will be low because of their involvement in dangerous drugs. This will be a minus nations experiencing such shift as the older people will be sapping the available resources without being able to replenish them.