Are higher taxes or lower taxes better for society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Taxes are one of the sources of national funding in a country. It is believed that higher taxes influence economic growth and social welfare. I strongly believe that higher taxes have more advantages to society compared to lower taxes. This essay will explore this phenomenon and propose evidence related to this issue. To begin with, citizens contribute to the development of public services when they pay higher taxes. In addition, the government has a higher budget to improve facilities for better quality of life such as medical services, schools and public transportations by hiring more doctors, nurses, and lecturers for better healthcare and education systems. Additionally, higher contributions promise more equitable distribution and better public facilities. For instance, Scandinavian countries, with relatively high tax burdens, have outstanding healthcare, education and social welfare systems. However, lower taxes raise entrepreneurship and investment, realising job creation and prosperity effects. For example, Singapore's low corporate tax rate has attracted global businesses, fueling its economic rise. Nevertheless, lower contributions are slowing down the improvement of public facilities as well as in remote areas. This issue can lead to the migration of residents from rural to urban areas which causes overpopulation, hence it is crucial to prioritize sustainable development in the countryside. By focusing on infrastructure and establishing a hospital, school and local businesses, remote areas can become more productive and have a positive impact on economic growth. This would be quite difficult with lower taxes. In conclusion, lower taxes attract investors and increase individual finances. Moreover, there are clear benefits to implementing higher taxes for the advancement of public centres and industrial expansion.