Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A few pupils belief revolves around the thought that there's nothing kept in history that we can learn from, on the other hand another group of people trust that history is a precious asset which one can utilise to understand human life. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and give substantial reasons why I believe that lessons learnt from the past are still valuable in todays day and age. The world we know and are aware of was very different compared to the one that our ancestors. Firstly, today's generation is advanced in life nullifying the older ways of practising certain processes carried out to complete a job. Secondly, with industrialization rapidly increasing things have been constantly developing almost negating things. For example, we have Zippos, lighters, matchboxes to light fire today, so learning about how fire was invented is void as it's already been through rapid progression. The gap from an era in the past is getting wider with every day that passes. However, there are certain historical practises that help us even today. Moreover, these practices have a large following globally. For example, the power of Zen was said to be acquired by a monk from the 16th century, and today with the increase in work and personal issues people have been joining classes to experience a Zen state of mind. There are innumerous activities that have helped shape the world and fellowship that has helped shape people and the world around them. To summarise, this essay discussed while the world develops and has ways of ignoring experiments from the past due to progression, there are also a few things that have managed to stand its ground and be a source of active learning in our day to day lives. In my opinion, history has provided us with abundant methods of achieving the goals we have today and in the future.