Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Crime is a pervasive problem in most countries around the world. Despite penalties such as incarceration and fines, many criminals are likely to re-offend. In this essay, I will outline two main reasons for this and suggest some ways to reduce recidivism. Criminals commit offences after punishment for several reasons. One major factor is their background. If a person comes from a criminal family, for instance, or has friends involved in drugs and burglaries, it can be difficult for them to escape this world. In addition to their upbringing and environment, substance abuse may increase the likelihood of a person returning to crime. Indeed, the majority of crime in Australia stems from drug and alcohol addiction. If these issues and addictions are left untreated, it is inevitable that the offender, seeking money or a high, will return to a life of crime after serving their time. Despite the seriousness of the re-offending problem, there are a number of possible ways to remedy the situation. The key factor is the treatment of the underlying issues. In many cases, this may mean addiction rehabilitation in prison or in the community. In other cases, providing education programs or training can enhance employability, which would dramatically reduce their risk of re-offending. Offering work placements or providing job-hunting assistance after jail or community service would also help to improve former criminals’ prospects. In conclusion, the reasons behind re-offending are complex. Although it can be a vicious cycle, driven by background and addiction problems, it can be reduced by effective intervention initiatives and greater support in the community.