Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best methods of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations?

These days, the best way to assess academic performance of students is to provide formal examinations. In my view, there are many effective approaches to evaluate students’ educational achievement. One of the effective methods is a verbal examination. In fact, some students can better express their knowledge verbally than written. Besides that, for certain subjects, students’ verbal answers can be more advantageous than written ones. For example, in subjects such as art and literature, students’ performance can be better assessed if student answer them verbally or by painting. Another ideal strategy is practical tasks. Instead of writing answers for formal examinations, students can prepare practical assignments and projects. For instance, students, who are studying communication and marketing subjects, can prepare marketing campaigns for existing companies. This way, their understanding of the subject can be easily evaluated. In conclusion, presently formal examinations are one of the education standards. Yet, there are effective strategies such as verbal examinations and practical tasks, that can help to assess students’ academic performance.