Some people think that public health within a country can be improved by government making laws regarding nutritious food. Others, however, think that health is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Globalisation and Industrialization has impacted working and eating habits of almost everyone residing in Tier 1 or Tier 2 cities. Fast food chains and QSR restaurants have emerged as a go-to place for people in corporate jobs due to high workload. Public health in general, depends majorly on these two factors. This essay will discuss both aspects of government intervention in regulating availability of different eating options in order to improve general health in the country. Although eating habits are unique in every region, religion and even generation, there is one similarity, which is need of nutrition for our body to maintain immune system and ability to perform the required tasks. Depending of various job types, different diet patterns are more appropriate for different people, and accordingly humans have developed their eating habits around it. This directly affects the health which, albeit gradually, improves overtime if we consume nutritious food; and remain physically active throughout the day. I strongly advocate that maintaining overall health should be the responsibility of oneself in general. However, authorities should ensure that private companies are not overburdening their employees to perform more than what their job entails. Regulating nutritious food entirely may result in favouritism and undue inclination towards one industry, hampering the level playing field for various businesses. Partial involvement of government in releasing the minimum nutritional requirement for people, enabling transparency on the ingredients used in food items being sold in outlets or supermarkets, guidance on leading a healthy lifestyle will always ascertain the good of their citizens.