Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the gender is taken consideration into the admission of universities, though the propose that the number of female students every speciality admits should be equal to male students is unrealistic, I still believe that it is advantageous because it can break stereotypes and resolve problems caused by the gender imbalance. From a short-term view, the measure for college to accept equal numbers of different genders is not reasonable. That is because the standard for a university to choose students is their academic achievements. In certain subjects which two genders had been disproportional for decades of years, being equal is unfair. For example, in China, a university announced in 2019 that they would admit the same numbers of male and female masters on English Teaching, which is mostly favoured by girls. Consequently, female students have to perform enormously better than the male counterpart. However, from a long-term perspective, equating the quantity of female students with male students could overcome stereotypes. Due to the fixed imagination of subject choices for both genders, a lot of areas suffer from the gender imbalance. As a result, the power disparity had become rather severe, which could result in gender discrimination including sexual harassment in workplaces. Being equal can compensate the disparity. For example, according to a survey by Smith College, among different state police departments in American, rape cases are less likely to commit in those states where boast higher rates of female police officers. To summarize, from my perspective, although equating the numbers of male and female students seems to be not realistic because historical gender imbalance, improving the equality between the number of two genders is more advantageous by breaking stereotypes.