A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Pupils in today's day and age are judged basis their social stature and the things they own which have led to older values being considered unimportant. This essay will discuss why I entirely agree with the notion that this generation is evaluated by the kind of friends they have and the things they own. Being a part of a certain circle gives one that moment of pride which they ride upon for the years to come. Firstly, this upliftment in befriending someone or being one themselves comes with a lot of perks such as being known as someone famous. Secondly, it isolates them to a different part of society which further brings in exclusivity in their lives in terms of things they own or the kind of job they're doing. For example, a layman would consider a CEO driving a Mercedes important than a manager in a company having friends who are still in college. In addition to that, ownership of tangible materials proves as evidence of a person's success. Only successful people can afford expensive things which make them part of an exclusive club giving them that niche appeal. Furthermore, these products enhance the personality of the owner in the viewers perspective as successful human beings. For example, a man owning a BMW is considered to belong to the upper strata of society and owning an iPhone makes one look successful. Today's generation has been shifting their goal in owning things to climb the social ladder. In conclusion, we're living in a world where the things you have define you as a person and helps people form an opinion about you not caring about the traditional values you possess.