Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often considered by some folks that it’s significant to have friends who always share similar opinie as theirs. However, on the other hand, some people think that the opposite is good. I support the latter point of view, as it makes our thought process much wider. As a matter of fact, this essay will discuss both these views and will provide arguments to support the perception which I carry. The first school of thought says that friends are the family we choose, and this is a widely common thought that prevails in the majority of humans, and hence we become selective while befriending someone whom we like or someone who understands our self-intend. This sometimes may have cultural impacts too. The definition of liking may vary from person-to-person. For instance, two people having a unique mindset and come from similar family backgrounds will obviously possess a better understanding of each other’s lifestyle and decision-making, than those who have opposite interests. Such as, a boy who belongs to a financially stable background can never understand the hardships of someone who is a child of daily wage labour. Scenarios like these may promote a man to opt for a companion who shares similar interests. Hence, this notion of having a like-minded friend is quite generic, despite the fact that it may become monotonous after some time. Furthermore, this reserves an individual in their own boundaries, which eventually refrain them from accepting new perceptions. Nevertheless, folks whose mindset differs from one another makes them more adaptable to react to unfavourable situations. Also, it enables a person to comprehend and evaluate other’s thoughts, which often opens a new door of opportunities for learning. For example, any pre-existing problem can have multiple possible resolutions, this can only be understood when you interact with different folks with different intellect and culture, rather than settling for the only idea. Which is why, I firmly emphasize on the importance of friends who do not have likewise mindset, as it eventually helps enhance our mental level. Not only this, but it can also have a cultural impact and make an individual more open-minded and enabling to surpass the societal stratum. In conclusion, by citing certain relevant scenarios, I would like to emphasize on the fact that, it’s better to have friends who always carry varying opinion.