In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays people go to big shopping malls even to get small things, as a result, local shops are affected as it goes to the extent of closure. Though Stepping into large malls and centres seems like growth, the non-existence of small scale industries shows the negative shade in the development. This essay is going to analyse the positive and negative aspects in terms of attracting tools, location, price & increase in status quo. First and foremost, shopping centres apply attention-seeking techniques like colourful lights, offers, big cartoon characters, etc. to grab the customers, whereas the small petty shop owners do not concentrate on such things. Hence, the visitors to their stores decreases followed by that their trading also decreases. He is already selling goods at an economical rate. But still, he has to incur a heavy loss and therefore he has to close his business. In metropolitan cities, many local grocery shops, stationery shops and fancy stores are closed due to the arrival of big city centres. Secondly, Even though a product can be purchased at a lower rate without any tax, people prefer to go to malls as their status level increased. They are unaware that they are being charged for those colourful lights and air conditioner. Take a pencil, for instance, it is available in the local stationery shop for just Rs.2/- but the same is Rs.6/- to Rs.7/- in malls. This does not lead to any positive development in society. Thirdly, Most of the malls are situated in the outer part of a city. Humans cannot go for such a long distance to buy a small amount of currently needy product. Why nobody considers about villagers?. What is the use of opening malls in the outer village and fixing a high price for daily consumable products?. As far as concern, people like to have only the small petty shops, not such big centres. In summary, I can see many negative developments. Not that the local shop owners are the only one affected, his dependents like his family, local middle and lower class people, wholesalers, retailers, etc. Government is giving many concessions, exemptions for their growth. But still, the arrival of the malls and city centres makes them useless.