Task 2: People living in the 21st century have a better quality of life than the previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that the 21st century has many challenges which may prevent human beings from attaining standard life with conveniences. While acknowledging the reasons behind this sentiments, I would argue that people in this century are living with a better quality of life than at any time in the past. Admittedly, it is understandable why there is a belief that life ’s standards of this century are not good or even worse than previous centuries. The key rationale can be referred to as the environmental status which is deteriorated by many factors. Specifically, a polluted atmosphere can cause health issues involving respiratory diseases, while contaminated water sources increase the possibility of getting dermatological ones. When the former is contributed by the pollutants from cars or bikes, there are also transportation reported to be one of the most serious factors in mortality rates. ​Notwithstanding the aforementioned arguments, I am convinced that contemporary life is better than ever before. This is due to medical breakthroughs with novel therapies in treatments even the most hopeless diseases. Recently, for example, a Chinese man having liver cancer was rescued from the verge of death by transplanting a pig’s liver which modified some of its genes. Additionally, the government enforces strict regulations to preserve the environment besides encouraging to use of environment-friendly products such as automatic electric cars furnished with self-driving systems. These innovative cars help to not only minimize traffic accidental rates but also speedy and convenient movements as they are capable of recognizing and avoiding objections. The innovation can be observed in technology when robots do housework and the Internet, while people spend time expanding their social cycle by making friends from all parts of the world without geographic limitations. ​In conclusion, although there are still inextricable matters existing, although there are still inextricable matters existing in this era that cause people’s unease, I agree that quality of life has been upgraded in many aspects.