"Prevention is better than cure." Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree.

It is commonly considered that as research and treatment of diseases are extremely expensive, the preventive measures can be a better investment in this manner. In my opinion, preventions are better rather curing it as all diseases are not curable as well as not everyone has the capacity to get necessary treatments and also by preventing these diseases one can ensure a safe and healthy life. Firstly, People are not always able to know when they are affected with some diseases which are caused by some virus or bacteria in which case prevention is the only option to be safe than cure or some treatments. Moreover, since many fatal diseases like cancer, HIV etc. do not have any effective treatment yet, people do not remain with any other options other than bear with it. For instance, once a person gets diabetes, it is impossible for him to cure it, whereas, it would have been a possible solution for him if he had taken precautions against it. Likewise, there are some diseases, caused by various types of virus and bacteria such as Sars, Ebola, influenza and many others which spread like epidemics in recent years, which did not have any treatment or preventions at the very beginning. In order to be safe and healthy, one needs to take preventions. For example, the present break out of Covid-19 virus can be prevented if necessary precautions are taken and health issues are followed rather than finding a cure after being affected by it. Secondly, the poorer people are mostly unable to bear the expense of treatments for most of the diseases. As treatments are difficult for them, they have to stay fit and healthy to maintain better help and live a life that prevents them from becoming sick. In conclusion, to prevent disease is a very good method than treating it but research, as well as treatments, play a vital role to save lives as well.