Children today are too dependent on computers and electronic entertainment. It would be better to encourage them to spend more time outside playing sports and games. Do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable trend that more and more children spend their leisure time on electronic devices. However, I am of the opinion that it is important to encourage children to participate in outdoor activities, which has optimistic impacts not only on their health conditions but also on their academic performance. First of all, outdoor sports, compared to indoor electronic entertainments, are more effective to keep children healthy. For example, it can be illustrated by a study by Peking University in 2016, in which a group made a comparison of eyesights between two primary schools in America and China. According to the study, the American school students, 86% of who spent more than 3 hours per day taking outdoor activities, had a better performance on eyes' health. Moreover, abide by eyesights, sitting in front of computers for a long time severely harms cervical spines while doing outdoor sports would not have the same adverse impacts on human bodies. Thus, I argue that creational activities are profitable by strengthening children's immune systems. Secondly, outdoors sports have benefits on academic performance. For instance, Harvard University had done a study among 6-year-old children. According to the survey, children who developed longer concentration spans averagely take 2 hours of outdoor activities. Meanwhile, those who have access to electronic devices in their early ages and have a tendency of addiction are less likely to focus for a long time in the designed test. In other words, outdoor recreations are beneficial to improve children's learning abilities. Therefore, outdoor activities are more helpful for children to perform better in academics. In conclusion, I believe that children should be incentivized to join in enormous sports activities due to their benefits on health and academic performance.