In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this technology-focused world, global literacy behaviour has shifted, leading to a view that believes people will no longer purchase physical reading materials since they are able to access any literature for free from the internet. However, I personally disagree with this statement and printed books or newspapers will remain popular. To begin with, digital and physical pieces of literature offer different experiences to its readers. The consumers are able to hold the book physically and feel the sensation of reading a book or newspaper, ranging from flipping pages to smelling the unique fragrance of papers. These kinds of experiences cannot be discovered by those who read through their gadgets. Furthermore, in view of the fact that digital devices produce radiation which has several significant drawbacks to one's well-being, such as sore eyes and decrease quality of eyesight, making most readers prefer to read physical literature to reduce the frequency of screen exposure. Consequently, it has become a form of relaxation to escape from the technology. One example can be seen in younger generations, where they find reading and collecting real novels as an amusing hobby to maintain a healthier lifestyle. Admittedly, physical materials could be prohibitive; thus, people choose to maximise the use of the internet and consume the literature through online libraries because it appears to be more affordable. However, in some cases, online sources are not entirely free. A case can be found in the New York Times digital newspaper, where the consumers must subscribe and pay a certain amount of fee to access the content. To sum up, while digital literature seems to be efficient for some readers, it is still unable to provide a similar condition that is received by those who read the literature physically. Hence, I believe that physical books will not be overshadowed by online sources.