Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that some people conceive entertaining as the film industry’s sole purpose, whereas others opine that movies may contain educational content. While both opinions have their strong points, in my perspective, this so-called entertainment can be highly educational. On the one hand, films are a source of entertainment. As they are often categorized in this section, it is easy for people to think of them as a way to unwind and escape their ordinary lives. Most of the producers aim to fulfil this expectation to gain more attention for their productions. This leads to a tremendous number of action or fictional films, which are great to meet the audiences’ needs, being made. A telling example of this is the “Mission Impossible” series. It intentionally emphasizes the “impossible” action scenes and special effects, which is an effective method to be more appealing to the audience. On the other hand, most film productions often have educative hidden messages channelled through the seemingly shallow storyline. Although producers often strive for attention-grabbing concepts to attract more viewers, it is the message that most directors endeavour to show the world. Take the “The Umbrella Academy” series as an example. Even though the movie is action-based and has quite a strange theme, it did an excellent job in showcasing the importance of family as well as shedding a light on the historical events and conspiracies revolved around the US in the 1960s. This type of film encourages the viewers to broaden their knowledge and dive deeper into further research. In conclusion, while watching movies can be enjoyed as an entertaining activity, I contend that it can also be instructive.