Write about the following topic: Some people think that university should not provide theoretical knowledge, but give practical training that is beneficial to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The growth in industrial production in various parts of the world has highlighted the need to educate students with more practical knowledge. This is critical in enhancing their skills, which are input in various areas; despite this, theoretical knowledge still proves to be critical. This essay will expand more on this. To begin with, gaining practical skills is imperative in academic institutions as it prepares the students to quickly adapt to the working environment outside the university. Practical training is prominent as it nurtures students with practical experience, which is a need in many industries. For instance, practical experience in agriculture is very resourceful to students, given the fact that it enhances their capacity to engage in farming activities on their own. Therefore, this can go a long way in sustaining their livelihoods as they can engage in agribusiness activities. However, it should not be underestimated that theoretical knowledge is still principal in academic institutions. Other jobs require theoretical knowledge, especially in the service industry. These include jobs like being a teacher and lecturer. Hence, this demonstrates that theoretical knowledge is equally important as it is crucial to impart knowledge to society, influencing development in various ways. In a nutshell, it is imperative to underscore that practical training in universities is significant in enhancing students ' experience, which in turn helps them shape their direction for the future. However, theoretical knowledge is equally important as it is an input to some service industries, which is also a basis for sustaining many.