The key to solving environmental problem is present generation are willing to accept a less comfortable life for the sake of the future generation.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, our planet has been plagued by numerous environmental issues, such as rampant pollution and global warming. Some believe that the best way to remedy this is for the current generation to sacrifice their comfortable life for future generations’ advantage. In my opinion, while changes must certainly be made to current lifestyles to save the environment, this may not require the people today to live a less comfortable life. Recent government policies and actions have made it easy for the current generation to make lifestyle changes that would benefit the environment at no significant burden to them. For example, many governments have improved the mass transportation options available, and kept the rates low. People today can opt to reduce their carbon footprint and reduce environmental pollution by not using cars to travel, and relying instead on public transport such as trains and buses. In fact, this change in lifestyle may be beneficial as people would incur less costs from not having to maintain their individual cars, save time from not having to battle traffic jams as well as making a significant positive impact to the environment. In addition, progress in technology and products available also make it easy for the present generation to save the environment at no significant cost to them. For example, new biodegradable plastics have recently been invented to replace old plastics that pollute the environment and have been adopted by manufacturers of single use plastic bags at no additional cost. The end product of these new materials functions in exactly the same fashion as the older items. As such, the present consumer would not be disadvantaged by the change made whilst still managing to contribute to protecting the environment. In conclusion, whilst I believe that the present generation needs to make lifestyle changes to reduce environmental issues, I strongly disagree that these changes will be a burden to the present generation. This is because governmental policies and actions, as well as technological advances will ensure that the lifestyle changes are adopted seamlessly and easily by the present generation.