Some people think that money is the best gift for teenagers. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion?

Parents of teenagers often wonder what would be the right gift for their wards all the time. While there are some adults who concur to giving monetary rewards to children, there are others who may think this may result adversely in their growth. In this essay, I will share both views supported by some case studies and share why it is healthy to prepare the child from a young age. Having too much money at hand can be a deterrent, but if taught well from an early age, the children will learn to save correctly for their future. Gifting money can be a good practice provided, they are also taught to spend wisely on things that are absolutely necessary. For instance, As per study concluded in the University of Chicago, out 1500 students who were regularly monitored on how they spend their pocket money, proved that parents who enquired about the spend every week were able to drive more efficiency about savings. On the other hand, if children are given anything way beyond the means could also result in promoting bad habits. Although not all kids may spend cash erroneously, but not following up would create a mindset of easy wealth. For example, as per an article in 'The Guardian', teenagers were more prone to substance abuse only to prove to their friends that are never short of funds. To support this habit of social acceptance can become damaging to the child's overall morale. In conclusion, providing fund as a gift for teenagers can be a good step keeping in mind, we are teaching them tips and tricks to save for future, to spend wisely and even practising to give a portion to charity. If these habits are inculcated from the start, it would help them become a better human being.